LIFE is an ECHO: Great Teams - Better Leaders - 123 - (Issue #8)

Great Teams - Better Leaders - 123. 1 Thought; 2 Quotes; 3 Tweets. Newsletter about Leadership, Culture, Teams, and Success.

ONE THOUGHT...

Life is an Echo

Life is an Echo.

What you give is what you get...

As a coach and leader my mindset has always been “No Deposit, No Return”.

In other words:

  • You get out of basketball what you put into it

  • You get out of school what you put into it

  • You get out of relationships what you put into them

  • You get out of life what you put into it

This No Deposit, No Return mindset reminds me of the following story...

Life is an Echo...

A little boy got angry with his mother and shouted at her, "I hate you, I hate you." Because of fear of reprimand, he ran out of the house. He went up to the valley and shouted, "I hate you, I hate you," and back came the echo, "I hate you, I hate you." This was the first time in his life he had heard an echo. He got scared, went to his mother for protection and said there was a bad boy in the valley who shouted "I hate you, I hate you." The mother understood and she asked her son to go back and shout, "I love you, I love you." The little boy went and shouted, "I love you, I love you," and back came the echo. That taught the little boy a lesson that our life is like an echo: We get back what we give.

Also, written in different terms from Zig Ziglar...

“Life is an echo. What you send out, comes back. What you sow, you reap. What you give, you get. What you see in others, exists in you.” - Zig Ziglar

We live in a world too many people are focused on what others do.

  • Too much finger-pointing.

  • Too much blame.

  • Too much lack of taking responsibility.

We need to all remember...

LIFE IS AN ECHO...you reap what you sow.

The world would be a much better place if we all had this mindset.

TWO QUOTES...

"Don't let your feelings dictate how you show up. Dominate a standard that you set in advance." - Ben Newman

"Good coaching is about leadership and instilling respect in your players. Dictators lead through fear - good coaches do not." – John Wooden

THREE TWEETS FROM OTHERS...

Your description for this link...

Your description for this link...

Your description for this link...

Reply

or to participate.