Great Teams - Better Leaders - 123 (Issue #1): No Deposit, No Return. ✅

One Thought...

Good Morning,

Here’s a reminder that no one has yet found a way to get something for nothing. All worthwhile goals come at a price, and the coins with which we pay are concentration, persistence and desire.

One of my favorite sayings I got off a soda bottle: NO DEPOSIT, NO RETURN. To me, that means you’ll get out of life what you are willing to put in. All champions have made great sacrifices to win their victories. So when someone talks to me about their goals and dreams, I ask them one question: “What are you willing to do about it?” - John Naber (4 Time Olympic Gold Medalist)

This concept of No Deposit, No Return has driven my life.

No matter what I do and what I focus on, it has been driven by the following mindset: "No Deposit, No Return". I wholeheartedly believe that you will get out of "everything", the time and energy you put into it. Whether that be school, your family, your sport, or your team. The principles below help drive this mindset:

  • Success is hard

  • You get what you earn

  • There are no easy ways to achieve your goals

  • Persistence pays off

  • You must always be willing to learn and grow

  • Never be satisfied or comfortable

  • Habits matter...a lot

  • Don't be afraid to take a risk

There are few people in the world that consistently follow this mindset. If you are willing to put in the time, never quit, learn, and stay persistent, good things will come to you and you will achieve your goals.

On a personal level, I believe it is a huge reason why our TEAMS have had success and why I have reached many of the goals I have set for myself. This is the mindset we talk about with our team. Many of our players put in an incredible amount of "deposits" to help reach their personal goals, as well as our team goals.

There is never an easy way. Put in the time and good things will happen. Stay persistent. Achieve your goals!

"No Deposit, No Return"!

Two Quotes...

"Love was the most important factor for our team in accomplishing what we have." - Sean McVay

"You don’t demand respect. You earn it." - Steve Seidler

Three Tweets...

Your description for this link...

Your description for this link...

Reply

or to participate.